Menu More MORE
Roadside... Roadside Assistance

Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Contest Seeks Best Teen Auto Technicians

WHAT:           Ten top high school auto technology student teams, the automotive technicians of the future, will repair identically “bugged” Mercury Milan vehicles at the 2010 Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Competition.  The competition seeks to find the state’s best aspiring auto repair team.
                        The competition started in 1949 to encourage high schoolers to consider automotive careers. Judges grade teams on knowledge, mechanical abilities and a hands-on under the hood competition where students demonstrate best workmanship in the shortest time.  The team with the best score will represent California at the 2010 National Finals at Ford Motor Company World Headquarters in June.  Last year more than $10 million in scholarships and prizes were offered, including a car for the top winning schools automotive programs.
WHY:              Trained automotive technicians are highly sought in today’s job market, but many high schools have reduced or eliminated automotive education.  Auto dealers and repair facilities scout the skills competition for future employees because demand for qualified technicians to repair today’s complex cars exceeds supply. 
WHERE:        Wally Parks NHRA Museum Presented by the Automobile Club of Southern California, LA County Fairplex Gate 1, 1101 W. McKinley Ave., Pomona  91768. 
WHEN:           10 a.m. Friday, May 7.  On site/phone interviews available before 9:45 a.m. and as students finish competing.
WHO:             The Southland’s top future automotive technician pairs representing:


Apple Valley HS
Joshua Dollar/Aaron Hite, Nathan Edwards
Arvin HS
George White/Miguel A. Garcia, Bradley Hoover                             
Russ Bacarella /Jon Greenhalph, Ben Hicks
Lompoc HS
Michael Johnson/Tom Litner, Eddie Samulski
Morro Bay HS
Jon Blackketter/Alex Munoz, Clint Requa     
Ramona HS
Robert Grace/Ryan Smedly, Matt Tallman                                      Mike Saavedra/Brendon Mendenhall, Brandon Grassilli
San Clemente HS
Josh Wish/Daniel Lussier, Oliver Poei                                        
San Luis Obispo HS
Jeff Lehmkuhl/Garrett Frice, Ben Sjogren                                          Sultana HS
Jay Winters/Lawrence Hernandez, Ryan Carrell
CST 1016202-80 Copyright © Automobile Club of Southern California. All Rights Reserved.
The Automobile Club of Southern California is a member club affiliated with the American Automobile Association (AAA) national federation and serves members in the following California counties: Inyo, Imperial, Kern, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Tulare, and Ventura.